Fashionista 514

My Thoughts Exactly… Ownership and other rant worthy topics…

Posted in life, My thoughts exactly..., rant by fashionista514 on October 6, 2009

I want to know something… can someone please enlighten me? What makes people think they have the effing power over you to dictate to you what you can and can’t do with your own life?!? What makes them seem to think that their opinion is any better or more valid than yours? I have noticed this many a time in my little life experiences… so why is it that people try so hard to move into your personal space and grab hold of the controllers?

Being a young woman in this big bad world, people are naturally very protective of me. This is great cause I know how much people really care for me, however it ALWAYS ends up becoming an overly possessive issue where I feel like I am losing my voice 😦 I think it is great that I get feedback from others before I do something – it allows me to weigh it’s worth. Sometimes though, all I really just want to do is fall flat on my face and experience it myself. I would one thousand times prefer to try something and it fail than to have never of took the leap myself and experienced every part of it.

What bothers me, is that what always starts as a concern ends as a fight to defend your own lifestyle choices. To do what you would have done instinctively if another had not interfered (for better or worse).

One thing I have never ever understood is why companies will search for job candidates on facebook. Check them out before they are hired, regardless of their qualifications. How the hell is it any of their business what you do in your private life – be it cross dressing, partying, or family functions??? Please don’t give me the lame ass excuse that they want employees that will represent their company properly… c’mon?!?! So dumb!!! Wether the guy has a foot fetish or not does not change his performance at work… stop trying to invade people’s personal space and turn us all into lifeless autobots! It`s our little preferences and passions that make us who we are.

Another pet peeve… people who say dumb, negative things for absolutely no greater good. People… if you don’t have nothin’ good to say – DON`T SAY NOTHIN`!!! Keep your mouth shut and the universe will reward you with not labelling you as a douche!

All this to say… let me live my golden life the way I WANT to please 🙂 I think I have good enough judgement to understand and evaluate what is good for myself. And if I don`t… well it`s about time I learn for myself.

Merci, thank you!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dollface said, on October 6, 2009 at 4:54 am

    Is everything ok? Let me know if you need to talk!!! I hate people who think they know better than everyone else… you are great, dont let anyone tell you different… xxxoo

  2. jessalyn said, on October 6, 2009 at 5:44 am

    aaah Im an only child, so I totally hear you on the people protecting you thing- also, my bf is older than me (only by like 3 years, so I dont know why he thinks he is like old man wise) but anywho- he tends to give me the "I know better" crap sometimes, and I have to tell him where to stick it!!! just keep on doing you! when i look back at my life, i dont regret ANYTHING! even if i made a wrong choice, it made me who i am today, and i freaking love me! keep up your fabulousness!! 🙂

  3. Andhari said, on October 6, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Oh I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks it's weird for companies to do facebook research on somebody. You better make a fake account and hide your name then if you apply for jobs lol for me at least, my facebook pictures can be "dangerous" blame the party shots.

  4. JP said, on October 6, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I keep my facebook clean and private… but I respect other people's privacy as well.

    Now, that doesn't mean I don't facebook stalk an ex every now and again (I'm not leaving C., but it's fun to see how fat they've gotten!)… but I'd never cross the boundaries that some companies do.

  5. Good Gals Inc said, on October 6, 2009 at 10:17 am

    AMEN Sister!!!! Great post. I completely agree with everything you've said!!! I think it's completely insane that companies look on facebook, it's beyond non of their business!!!

  6. Sher said, on October 6, 2009 at 11:31 am

    yesss I agree with everything!! its good to see posts like these every now and then because hey, we all need to rant!


Leave a Reply

