Fashionista 514

I heart Cusco

Posted in Uncategorized by fashionista514 on October 2, 2009

So we have been in Cusco now for two days and are currently on the train heading to the infamous Macchu Picchu site. We will be staying the night and visiting the famous archaelogical site tomorrow. I am looking forward to an afternoon filled with hot springs and relaxation in a bikini I must find when I get there 😉

What do I love most about Cusco??? The life of the city, the handmade scarves, jewellery and dolls. Their love of American paraphanalia, the street carts filled to the brim with fresh fruit, the numerous llamas wherever you go!!! Baby sheep, donkeys, cows and oxen everywhere. Dogs roaming free… No leashes. My favorite of all though? The beautiful preservation of the Inca culture – temples, villages, and traditional rituals. How they worship the sun, the sea and the mountains. It is mind boggling to think of how they could have possibly moved rocks weighing tons up mountains so steep. I love the local tales of Inca princesses and folklore each ruin site holds. I love the strong sense of family and community here. Almost every woman here is either pregnant or has a baby strapped to their back. Its really something beautiful too see… A refreshingly simple perspective on life. Not as overly complicated as we Northerners seem to make everything… Chasing careers and independance. Isolating ourselves from each other. In every church or temple there are carvings and symbolism worshipping fertile women. It is so beautiful to see that kind of value. Back at home people seem to flip their lids and be afraid of it rather than embrace it… But then again, our values of what right and wrong are seem incredibly tainted. People here work hard. Building, farming, weaving, and take care of their most important values. Their loved ones. Everyone works together and some communities are owned by the residents of the village… Meaning that everyone has a say over everything. They decide together… None of this dog eat dog business we have back at home. Its definately refreshed my way of thinking being surrounded by such a beautiful and honest existence.

Cusco is magical. Enchanting. A place I would recommend to everyone who loves animals and can appreciate the natural beauty of art and landscape. Please, please, PLEASE make it a point to one time in your lives visit this gorgeous place. I fell in love with it, and so will you.

I have been taking a shitload of pics, but internet is hard to come by and fit into the schedule. When I get home there will be an outlandish amount of posts coming your way ;). Thank you all for following me on this beautiful adventure and being patient with the irregularity of my posting! Cellphone reception has been completely nul since Lima on my phone so unfortunately I cannot send any texts or tweets out 😦

Loving the train ride and making some new friends from Panama city! Tres cool ;).

Hasta luego baby!

Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andhari said, on October 2, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Oh wow the mountain view looks unreal! I love it!:)

  2. Dollface said, on October 2, 2009 at 4:51 am

    I love living through you!!! It makes me want to travel the world. xxxooo

  3. stilettolover91 said, on October 2, 2009 at 5:05 am

    The mountain pic looks amazing. I would love to travel the world like you!!

    P.S: I put up pics of my new heels on my blog go check them out 😉

    http://www.hottheels.blogspot.com

  4. Toothfairynotes said, on October 2, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Nice pics, I love the mountains! The Netherlands is such a flat country!

    Thanks for entering the Gucci Giveaway. I've finally answered your question in my latest post!

    *loves*


Leave a Reply

